When we create a static page using wordpress, whether you like it or not, you can only create a page with template given by your theme. Sometimes, we just want to create a plain static page in our website (or blog), and don’t want to use what our theme has provided for us.

Just like my CV, which you can open it here http://andri.cisco.or.id/curriculum-vitae, this page is created using WordPress. I didn’t upload a static HTML page to create this page. What I did is, I created a new page on my wordpress dashboard (Write – Write Page, choose corresponding Page Template which is empty template).

To make our page empty without any attributes given by our wordpress theme, you can create your own empty template (I called it that way). What you have to do is create a new php file, i.e : myEmpty.php, and what you should do is write these lines of codes.

<?php
/*
Template Name: myEmpty
*/
?>
<?php if (have_posts()) : while (have_posts()) : the_post(); ?>
<?php the_content(); ?>
<?php endwhile; endif; ?>

Don’t forget to give your Template Name, or it will not showed up on your Page Template sidebar when you create a new page in your WordPress dashboard. In my template file, I called it myEmpty (as shown in the 3rd line and I made it bold).

After you created this file – Oh I forgot one thing, you should create this file on your wp-content/theme/yourthemefolder to make it works with your recent theme -, you can start to create your static page from your wordpress dashboard (Write – Write Page), and when you choose Page Template on your sidebar, it will show you a new template called myEmpty (or can be anything as you give the name). Start create your static page, give a title, i.e: mypage, and then you can called it, http://yourdomain.com/mypage.

I hope this little tutorial will help you up.😀
Cheers.